Back on the road…

I went for a run today and it has been quite a while since I have done this. I have not been inactive, but I have not sought activity. I have all the good excuses too. Moved, changed jobs, stress, weather, tired, too busy, on and on and on, but MAN did it feel good today to put a few miles under my feet. Not that my routines for the past few years has been any better, but this is the first time in about 6 years where other than a short daily walk, and a few stairs, and my usual calisthenics that I have not been putting in either some road work or stair work.

We are once again living in a tower and now on the 7th floor, so one more than before, but I am not a fan of the stairs in this building. They seem a bit too steep and are quite dirty compared to the ones in the last building. However the area here is quite flat and there is a pedestrian path so road work is a viable option.

So today I finished my short task list and with absolutely no excuses left, I suited up and was out the door. My goal was for 60 minutes and I made that. I did not run that entire time, but I did a 25 minute section, and then put in some walk/run periods, a short fartlek section and then finished up with another 15 minutes of sustained running to finish off. I am not sure of the distance yet, and probably won’t be too concerned with that yet.

I need to make this a regular part of my day, and will have to just make it happen. The first step will be to run again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

