Continuing Quest

While I have still not set any specific goal or goals for my running and overall fitness, I have worked myself into a routine. Essentially on M, W, F I am doing sets of 100 curl-up crunches, 50~100 push-ups and then running up the stairs. This fits into my schedule and is giving me some sweat time. I don’t imagine myself out running a race in this weather so to me it is unrealistic to get dressed out and go running, when I can get a quality workout indoors. I am not a big fan of treadmills and while I have logged some miles on them, they don’t “feel” like running and the longest I have ever gone is probably 5K. Now, my stairs (run up, walk down) is not that long but it is “real” and “intense” with anaerobic, aerobic and recovery phases built in. Rationalizing….sure, but I am happy with it. 

I don’t know how far I will try to go with it, I would like to work up to perhaps 10 cycles, but I am not going to push it. It will come when ready. I am looking for opportunities to run outside, but those runs will be planned and probably be on a weekend if the weather is really good. 

On the other days, I continue to engage in calisthenics (curl-ups, push-ups, squats, crab-walk squats, dips) and weight work with my dumbbells (5 and 25 lbs), along with some stretching.

Stretching is probably the one area that I need to work into a routine perhaps on the T/Th days.

I will also continue to look for a running event to become my focal point for a goal. YCGTD! 

Leave a Reply

